A Medicine-Free Cold

Yesterday afternoon, I could feel it coming. My throat was a bit itchy, when I sneezed there was a slight lingering burn, and my lungs felt a bit funny.

And BAM. Woke up this morning with a cold. A real deal cold.

Usually, I take Lemsip, a magic remedy from England, and it makes me feel more comfortable until it passes. However, I am still breastfeeding. And that means cold medicine is out.

So, what is a girl to do?

Google “medicine free remedies”  and cross my fingers that they work! And pat myself on the back for being such a natural and green human being (ha!). Oh, me? No, I don’t take medicine. I use natural, healthy remedies from mother earth to heal. I am very connected, you see. Right.

The first thing I am trying: Green tea with lemon and honey (I know… not vegan… I haven’t cut it out– but I don’t really use it, either).

Results: It made me feel better. Like tea does. It does taste good and give a touch of caffeine. Anything like cold medicine? Nope. Not even close. But I will continue using it because it makes me feel better in the moment and I am sure it is good for me (fluids, vitamin C, green tea).

 

 

 

Leave a comment